After you’ve exchanged licenses and insurance information, the aftermath of an accident can be just as stressful as the accident itself. It may be uncomfortable to entertain the thought that you may one day cause an accident, but making sure you carry an insurance policy designed to protect you in such an event is part of being a safe and responsible driver. With the right coverage, you may even be able to recover some damages.
Types of Auto Insurance
Most states require drivers carry Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability insurance, more commonly known as Liability insurance. This can be purchased on its own or combined with other policies your insurance company offers. This type of insurance covers your legal liability should an accident involve injury or death of another person and/or damage to another person’s property.
These are limited policies designed to protect you against claims or lawsuits filed by the other party.
By law, Texas drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance, $30,000 for each injured person, with a total of $60,000 for injuries per accident, and $25,000 for property damage.
First Party Benefits (FPB) insurance, sometimes called First Party Benefits-Medical (FPB-M), provides benefits to help cover the medical expenses of the policy holder and any other person named in the policy in the event of an accident, even if the accident was caused by the policy holder. In every state except Pennsylvania, FPB-M is optional.
Texas is not a no-fault insurance state, which means, by law, when there is an auto accident, someone must be held responsible for compensating the other driver and passengers of the other vehicle for injury and/or property damage.
After the Auto Accident
In the event of an accident where you’re at fault, don’t put off contacting your insurance company. If you delay your call, your insurance company may claim you are not being cooperative and deny you the coverage to which you are entitled.
A few other things you must do in the event of an accident where you are at fault, assuming you are not injured or otherwise incapacitated, include immediately contacting the police so there is a record of the accident with law enforcement, and taking photos of the accident scene and all of the vehicles involved.
Getting into an accident can be a difficult experience; don’t prolong the process by not being prepared for the aftermath. Contact us today for more information about insurance laws and how to protect yourself.